Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by JK Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne

IMG_0796 IMG_0802

Saturday 30th July was a magical night for me; I set off for my local independent bookshop, the wonderful Brendon Books, for my first ever Harry Potter launch party (I was too young to accompany my older brothers when the earlier books were launched)! I took part in a Harry Potter general knowledge quiz (which I won!), a Horcrux Hunt and drank a chilled Butterbeer (Shandy), received a bag of Bertie Botts’ Every Flavour Beans (jelly beans), listened to readings from all 7 books, and once midnight had struck, purchased my  copy of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child which came with a free handcrafted wand!

After pausing to thank the wonderful owners of Brendon Books, I rushed home to begin reading. The first thing to point out is that this is written a play-script rather than a novel. It starts where the Epilogue of the seventh book in the series left off – a grown up Harry Potter seeing his youngest son, Albus Severus, off to Hogwarts for the first time at platform 9 3/4, King’s Cross Station. Although it has been 19 years since Harry left school, Hogwarts remains reasonably unchanged: Professor McGonagall is now headmistress, Neville Longbottom teaches Herbology, and ever present Hagrid isn’t leaving any time soon.

Albus is the central character of the play and you learn that his journey through Hogwarts is rather different to his father’s. I don’t want to give away any plot spoilers, so I won’t say any more about the story. However it was a gripping read and I’m so glad it was published in the school holidays as I couldn’t bear to put it down until I’d finished reading it. In my opinion J.K.Rowling is a supreme storyteller and  if you are a fan of the Harry Potter series you will love this book. 5/5 stars.

2 thoughts on “Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by JK Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne

Leave a Reply

