The Children’s Laureate, Lauren Child – a Fantastic Appointment

 

I meant to write this post as soon as I heard that Lauren Child had been appointed as the new Children’s Laureate, but end-of-year exams got in the way! In my opinion she is a brilliant choice because her unique style has certainly had a huge influence on my own love of books and reading.

When I was three my mum bought me “I am Too Absolutely Small for School” from a book fair at my older brothers’ primary school. I think I subsequently requested it as a story every single day until I went to school myself; I used to spend hours looking at the  fascinating illustrations and the word “schooliform” is still in use in my family! This book was followed by other Charlie and Lola titles and many other Lauren Child picture books….

I absolutely adored Clarice Bean. Apart from her wonderfully realised family, there was the fictional girl detective Ruby Redfort making intermittent appearances throughout the stories! I hoped and hoped that Lauren would write a book about Ruby too, and when the Ruby Redfort books arrived they became my new favourites.  I’ve been lucky enough to meet Lauren Child at book festivals on several occasions – her signing queues are very long because she is so charming and makes time to speak to all her fans and answer their questions. As I said at the start of this post, Lauren Child has been a huge inspiration to me and I’m sure that during her time as Children’s Laureate she will foster a love of books in many, many more children.

 

Here are some reviews of Lauren Child’s books that I’ve previously written:

Feel the Fear

Pick Your Poison

Blink and You Die

 

Leave a Reply

